Ukraine’s Top Scientists Turn to Academic Unity in Call for Peace

SA – “The National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine this week posted a letter asking for peace and Russian restraint and for support from the worldwide academic community…

“Now all of us have to unite and by [joining] efforts prevent further aggravation of the social and political situation, bloodshed and a split of the country. All Ukrainian scientists, all our fellow citizens—whether they live in the North or South, East or West—are to stay together for accomplishing the goal of the whole Ukrainian nation—to live in the country where the peace dominates, where rights and freedoms of every person are respected,” the letter said, asking the Russian people not to permit the use of arms.

“At this crucial moment of our country’s history we call on [the] worldwide academic community to take all the necessary efforts to preserve peace and territorial integrity of Ukraine,” the letter added.

Read Letter In Full Here On Scientific American

6 comments on “Ukraine’s Top Scientists Turn to Academic Unity in Call for Peace

  1. Please share any specific recommendations you come across by this group or any other for peaceful resolution of Ukraine’s difficulties.
    Thanks,
    Jerry

    Like

  2. tubularsock says:

    Tubularsock doesn’t buy this crap! I’ve done enough research into this to know that this so called “academic” unity for peace is paid for by the American Government propaganda machine! By no means am I pro-Russian but when you check the facts on the ground you’ll find that here in the U.S. we are being fed capitalist lies which are equal to a semi-truck full of bull shit.

    Just Google it and start reading ……. it is not that complex ……….

    Like

    • I could Google it – if I cared enough or wanted to. So can anyone else on the intrawebs, eh?

      In the time I spend doing that though, I could do what I’ve been debating doing for a couple of weeks now…making the final post on this blog and moving on to more productive endeavors. Thanks for being the catalyst, Tubular – tis much appreciated! :-)

      Like

      • tubularsock says:

        Oh, that is just great! Tubularsock will now be blamed for pushing you over the edge and all your followers will be hostile toward Tubularsock. I’m getting to feel like poor Vladimir for Christ sake! WTF! “Mother said there’d be days like this, there’d be days like this, mother said.”

        Oh well, Tubularsock has been called a lot of things but a “catalyst”? I hope your change will be more productive but I for one am going to miss your broad amalgamation of information.

        Tubularsock is not happy about this ……….. I’m going to go hide under my desk.

        Like

        • NOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I meant it sincerely, and in a very good way! I’ve been stalling about this and had a post sitting in drafts for weeks now…you catching another careless post on here just proved what I’d already been thinking…if I am not going to put my all into making posts, I need to not be making any posts!

          Like

Comments are closed.