Human Tissue Found in Meats

 – But Eating It Is “No Threat”

Yegads…is there ANYTHING left in our world that is safe to consume, I wonder? Most of our veggies are now genetically altered and filled with pesticides….milk is full of steroids and soon, aspertame…and almost all of our meat is either contaminated in one form or another…or on its way to being as genetically modified as our crops. What in the HELL are we doing to ourselves…to our children…to the entire planet???

“The horse meat fiasco in Europe has prodded scientists to look a bit deeper into what else we might be consuming. A team of South African scientists have just found traces of human tissue in meat meant for public consumption from 9 provinces.”

Activist Post – “The horse meat fiasco in Europe has prodded scientists to look a bit deeper into what else we might be consuming. A team of South African scientists have just found traces of human tissue in meat meant for public consumption from 9 provinces.

The issue was revealed to parliament, almost as a side note, during meat inspection briefings on Tuesday.

A University of Stellenbosch scientist and his team conducted a microbial analysis that revealed traces of human elements, but said that slaughterhouse workers sometimes cut themselves . . . or other things . . . which could lead to the findings.

If I walked into a factory and the sample I randomly selected to test was a meat sample of which the person de-boning the meat had just picked his nose and then touched the meat, I would get a totally different microbial reading,” he said.

Delicious. Beyond the findings themselves, it brings up the global hot-button topic of the moment: food labeling. How much should we know about what we are consuming?

In addition to the troubling statements above, scientist Louw Hoffman noted that only 15% of the meat being sold in South Africa is correctly labeled, revealing other potentially harmful attributes of which consumers are currently unaware:

“In the labelling regulations it clearly states that allergens have to be mentioned and noted,” said Hoffman.

Allergens like . . . other people’s genetic signature?

Yet, Hoffman and his team of scientists concluded that the incorrect labeling poses “no threat” to the consumers who eat it, despite some more gems uncovered:

Meat Musical Chairs

Briefing parliament’s portfolio committee on agriculture, forestry and fisheries, University of Western Cape forensic scientist Dr Eugenia D’Amato said nearly 43% of samples she had tested which were labelled as game, were, in fact, beef. 

D’Amato said horse meat had also been used as a substitute for springbok in biltong, and pork was found in ostrich sausages. 

There was also a smaller proportion of kangaroo in samples.

Despite the overall findings that consumers have absolutely no idea what they are eating – including human remnants – in 85% of the products, SA’s Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries deputy director-general downplayed it by asserting that we are not becoming unwitting cannibals:

It is possible that (if tested) we could find traces of human DNA in meat. However, even if we do find human DNA, it does not mean we are eating human flesh.

Great. Unfortunately, we are evidently eliminating healthy microorganisms in the processing of foods, but since there is an acceptable standard of nasty foreign entities, thanks to our regulatory agencies – we have introduced a variety of contaminants into now weakened guts and immune systems.

We’d like to think that these food scandals are safe from us – overseas, it’s their problem. But, big problems are usually systemic and many of the developed nations are on the same platform. As with most food scandals, they go on for years unnoticed before the beans are spilled.

It doesn’t sound like anyone’s literally being run through the meat grinder just yet, but it’s a startling fact that we don’t know much about what our food comes into contact with. And we have scientists and regulatory agencies continually asserting how safe our food supply is.

Are you unsettled at the prospect of ingesting someone else’s particles and blood? Do you wonder what else will be found when the next scientific investigation is conducted in your country?

Perhaps we should be asking ourselves before each meal, “Hey, who’s in there? How’d they get in there? Anyone missing?”

Sources:
http://www.timeslive.co.za/thetimes/2013/03/27/human-tissue-in-my-beef-stew
http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/387383/Could-HUMAN-DNA-be-in-our-food-Quite-likely-claim-experts
http://www.bizcommunity.com/Article/196/525/91240.html

14 comments on “Human Tissue Found in Meats

  1. carinaragno says:

    buy the cow live, go in with a friend or three, buy a half side of beef or 1/4, visit the farm you are buying from, look at his facilities and what he feeds, it should be corn mix (corn, beef pellets, oats, molasses was my mix, 2/3 corn) with all the good hay they can eat. there is fat line down there backs when they are ready for butcher, can’t miss it if you look at their backs from above.

    pigs are really cheap bought live weight

    • Excellent advice/information and it really is looking like that is going to be what people start doing if they care about their long-term health or what they might be ingesting. Me…for now I’ll be happy when the chicks start dropping fresh eggs and (hopefully) a few of our plants drop some veggies on us…gotta start somewhere, right?

      • carinaragno says:

        you know it, at least you are starting, some people are just too lazy

        • Having the chickens is actually breaking the law here…ask me if I give a flying f*ck anymore…the guy across the street is allowed to chain his (howling) dog outside to wallow in a pile of its own feces…and codes is going to tell ME I cannot have a couple of quiet chickies in a clean coop? I. Don’t. Think. So.

          • carinaragno says:

            i hear you, there are no laws anymore except for us peons, i say screw it, they have set the precedent … we are all lawless like our fearless leader, fk em

  2. moorbey says:

    It does not surprise me at all. I worked in a meat packing plant. Started on tha kill floor so I have seen tha whole procedure from start to finish. Now o must admit I love me some beef and especially a burger. After watching hamburger being made I would not eat hamburger 4 over a year.

    • That must be some rough work to do. I worked at Jack-In-The-Crack for only a week and that was enough to cause me to stop eating fast food burgers for years. Have some friends and family in the south who own or work at chicken farms and egg plants…also a nasty, nasty industry. “I got a promotion today!” my friend says. “Yeah…I get to feed the feathers into the incinerator now!” Oh my…I don’t even want to think about what that job is a promotion FROM >.<

      • moorbey says:

        I started cleaning on tha kill side. then I shoot tha cattle and hung them to run down the line. Then I eventually waz loading sidez of beef. Then I worked hidez 4 over a year and finally got to tha loading dockzwhere tha money waz at.We had unlimited hourz sundayz were double time. It waz the some of the nastiest and stinkest work I have ever done,
        My ex loved tha money that I made some weekz I came home after tayez 1300 a week but she used to make me strip down to my boxerz in the hallway and then come in the house me to tha shower and clothez right in the washer
        I even worked in a pork plant 4 2 yearz removing the hair,

  3. UK curry is becoming a problem! Whatever is in it it’s not horsemeat or even anything we would otherwise eat anyway…could be cat…dog…???? or just about anything you can name! Nobody knows! They don’t even know what part of whatever animal it is, is being used! Unreal!!!!! Think I’ll just start breeding my own meat and growing my own veg etc!! :)

    • Sounds like a good plan to me! I used to use a ground turkey that I liked a lot…one day I noticed it wasn’t breaking apart as normal..it was staying kind of cubed. Looked at the package…”Now with soy added!” it said. Oh lovely…American soy is toxic, may I have s’more please?! My only problem would be raising animals with the thought of eating them…couldn’t do it…they’d all end up my pets, every last one of them…and then I’d have more mouths to figure out how to safely feed! :-D

  4. Ray's Mom says:

    Not safe to eat anything from the grocer any longer. I have been buying beef, pork and hamburger from a local butcher who does the whole process locally from farm to freezer. It is tasty as well as healthy.

    • Our one good local butcher went out of business not long after our 2nd Wal*Mart Supercenter came to town…no one would make the side trip downtown for the better product…bar code voting mandated that it was unhealthy we want and unhealthy we shall get….ugh!

  5. Valentina says:

    Consumers should start boycotting some corporate establishments, then we will see them crawling back to us, but we know it’s not going to happen.

Comments are closed.