The Race Is On: Two State Libertarian Parties Endorse Gary Johnson

January 7, 2012 COLUMBIA, SC – In the style of the Continental Congress, Members of the South Carolina Libertarian Executive Committee have endorsed Gary Johnson. A Resolution was penned as follows:

” Whereas, the South Carolina Libertarian Party supports the libertarian principles demonstrated by Gary Johnson and appreciates the efforts the candidate has been making to bring the message of libertarian ideas of personal and financial freedom to the voting public.
Resolved, that the following South Carolina Libertarian Party Executive Committee members endorse Gary Johnson for his bid for the Libertarian Party’s nomination for the Office of President of the United States at the upcoming national convention in May of 2012 and we encourage our delegation to support him.
The fact that Governor Johnson brings to the table his executive-level experience and a proven record of fiscal responsibility and that he left his term-limited post in New Mexico with a balanced budget and a $1 billion budget surplus, I believe that he would be the far best candidate to represent the Libertarian Party on a national level”, said State Chairman, Victor Kocher.

You can find out more at www.sclp.org

Visit Gary Johnson websitehttp://www.garyjohnson2012.com

♣♣♣

Nebraska Libertarian Party Central Committee Endorses Gary Johnson

January 1, 2012 OMAHA, NE – Party Chairman Gene Siadek issued the following statement:

“After Governor Johnson’s December 28th announcement that he was going to seek the Libertarian Party’s nomination for President of the United States, I called a meeting of the State Central Committee in accordance with our Party bylaws to discuss and vote on endorsing his candidacy.

“I am happy to announce today, the Libertarian Party of Nebraska’s Central Committee has voted to endorse Governor Johnson as the Libertarian candidate for President of the United States.  I believe we are the first state committee to do so and we are happy to announce our endorsement on Governor Johnson’s birthday.
“Governor Johnson brings to the table two-terms of executive-level experience in New Mexico and a proven record of fiscal responsibility and social tolerance. In 2002, Governor Johnson left his term-limited post with New Mexico being one of only four states in the country with a balanced budget. He vetoed 750 bills during his time in office; more than the other 49 Governors combined. He also cut over 1,200 government jobs without firing anyone and cut taxes 14 times while never raising them.
“While America suffers under a “government knows best” administration that has utterly failed on its promises of both hope and change, and while our neighbors in Iowa prepare to caucus on big-government Republicans, (minus one non-GOP-supported candidate), we are encouraged to have a strong Libertarian running under the Libertarian banner.
“We feel that the red-Republicans and blue-Democrats have essentially become one Purple Party that no longer represents the vast majority of Americans. Further, we agree with Governor Johnson’s statement, “Sadly, neither the Republicans nor Democrats will offer this agenda [of fiscal conservatism and social tolerance] to the American people. The Republicans talk about cutting spending and taxes but insist on government regulating our personal lives. The Democrats support more liberal social policies but they will tax and spend and borrow us into bankruptcy. America needs a third way.”
“We are hopeful that Nebraska Libertarian Party membership and all minimum government, maximum freedom Nebraskans will come out in droves for Governor Johnson’s campaign. We feel he is the only alternative to the Purple Party status quo of wars, inept fiscal stewardship and infringements on individual rights.
Note: The State Central Committee of Nebraska’s vote had one abstention: Mr. Randy Eshelman, Vice Chairman of the Nebraska Libertarian Party abstained due to his position on the Libertarian National Committee.
###
Minimum Government, Maximum Freedom
The Libertarian Party of Nebraska’s chartered purpose is to maintain a representative government that protects the inalienable rights of individuals. You can find out more at www.lpne.org. Visit Gary Johnson website http://www.garyjohnson2012.com
6 comments on “The Race Is On: Two State Libertarian Parties Endorse Gary Johnson

  1. Firmly behind President Obama myself :)

    • MisBehaved says:

      I’ll try not to turn my blog into a total Gary Johnson support page then! ;-)
      He is former governor of our state and even if he doesn’t make it this time around, I think he would do an excellent job for this country. At the very least, he is not owned by corporations and special interest groups which puts him head and shoulders above men like Romney, Perry and the rest of the slimey oooze the GOP keeps pushing on us!!

  2. ephraiyim says:

    @IMisBehaved hate to say this but it seems that he is owned by the corporations after all. At least someone got to him. How on earth could he have possibly endorsed Romney yesterday? It’s like he was programmed. He didn’t even sound like himself.
    Who was holding his family hostage? Or worse, and please God let this not be true, what position was he offered in a Romney administration?
    I had really thought that he and Ron Paul were the non-politicians in the race but after that news conference He looked like every other sell out politician who got an offer he couldn’t refuse. I don’t mean this as disrespectful I just don’t understand.
    I certainly can’t see any of his supporters voting for Romney for any reason. I would rather keep the devil we know than vote for a devil we don’t. Especially after Romney said last night that he supports the President’s right to imprison US citizens without habeus corpus. Who knows what the hell this guy would do. That we just need to trust his character. Well his past tells us what his character is. I vote NO one. I vote for Anarchy and voluntaryism. Just refuse to do anything anyone in authority tells us to do.
    If enough people just stop obeying them they can’t control it any longer. Sure there will be some losses but if we just all stop even one thing. It will shut them down. We don’t need violence. Just coordination.
    Let’s say we get 2 million people to just not go to work one day. The economic ramifications to the government would be astronomical. No taxes paid by anyone who did not work that day. The fall out from corporations complaining to their Congressmen. It would have to be a protest against government directly. Like a nationwide strike similar to what Europeans use. Only instead of it being directed against the corporations it would be directed against government.
    Planned, published, directed and coordinated.
    Just an idea.
    In any case what are your thought on the Governor’s withdrawal and endorsement of Romney?

    • MisBehaved says:

      Your comment sent me into a bit of a panic because I was out of town and had heard nothing about Gary Johnson withdrawing from the race or supporting Romney. It was John Huntsman who withdrew and cast his support behind Romney, not Gary Johnson. Johnson moved from the GOP to the Libertarian party and seems to have a really decent shot at getting their nomination. His campaign is still very active and should he withdraw, my hunch would be he would endorse Ron Paul, if anyone.

      I’ve watched the video of Huntsman’s speech and I do agree that he did not look or sound like himself and it was both sad and eerie to watch him. I hate the thought that any of the candidates – even ones I wouldn’t really support – getting pulled down or taken out of the race by behind the scenes players & influences. Honestly, at this point I think our system has been corrupted beyond anything we can ever hope to repair and our days of ‘We The People’ electing anyone we truly want are long gone and over. I will not vote again for the ‘lesser’ of anything – good, evil or otherwise. If Johnson does not get the Libertarian nomination I will sit this round out and probably most other future elections as well. What good can I do by continuing to vote AGAINST people rather than FOR candidates whose ideas and platform I can support? I do not support what our corporatized government is doing and more and more I am tired of being bent over and told that this is the way things are and I should get over it.

      I really, really like your thoughts on a well organized and coordinated strike. I didn’t support OWS because of their approach (and ‘shadowy’ external influences) that I could only see leading to violence and unnecessary destruction – but I could and would support something like you mentioned of people just not showing up to work. I also thought that OWS choosing to target Wall St. was misguided because, as you mentioned, it needs to be a strike against the congressmen who have willingly partnered up with and joined forces with corporations to cause us harm.

      And I am really sorry for the long delay in responding; as I mentioned I was out of town Tuesday and participated in the blackout yesterday so I stayed offline completely. If you ever want to seriously discuss ways to organize people or actions we might be able to take in order to fight back, please feel free to email me at misbehavedwoman@gmail.com. I spent years working as a prison reform and prisoners’ rights activist and I am quite used to helping fight the ‘powers that be’ so maybe I have some useful skills and/or ideas to contribute.

  3. ephraiyim says:

    forgive ME! DUH! I really messed up there. My brain must have been out of town that day although I do have the excuse of having not slept for about 24 hrs prior to writing that. the pain of the fibromyalgia keeps me up many a night.
    Sorry about that.

  4. MisBehaved says:

    No worries at all. And as a frequent insomniac, I fully understand and uh, oh yeah…I’ve made similar posts when I’m running on little to no sleep. Makes me want to take out my brain and slap it around…lol.

Comments are closed.